Network Cork Members Celebrate

27th May 2024

Posted In: Be In The Frame

Network Cork has announced the overall winners of the Businesswoman of the Year Awards 2024, across eight award categories (pictured). The winners were chosen from multiple sectors and industries, from start-ups to established businesses and from entrepreneurs to organisational changemakers. The celebratory event, held in Vienna Woods Hotel, last Thursday is an annual opportunity to celebrate the achievements of Cork businesswomen.

Forty-five women from across Cork City and County were shortlisted for the awards across eight different award categories, based on the calibre of their professional achievement. The winners in each category were determined by a judging panel comprised of business experts including Evelyn Moynihan, CEO, Kilkenny Group; Audrey Houlihan, Branch Manager at AIB Blackpool; and Niall O’Keeffe, Head of Enterprise at LEO Cork City.

The President’s Award was also presented to Elaine Duggan, Deputy Features Editor of The Echo and and Editor of the paper’s Women on Wednesday (WoW!) supplement, for her support on amplifying stories of individuals driving change in Cork. This special award acknowledges the work of one exceptional individual outside of Network Cork who embodies the spirit of the Network and who has inspired other members.

The event was hosted by Anna Daly, multi-award winning TV anchor and presenter, and founder of slow fashion brand Little Bliss, with a special address from Lord Mayor of Cork, Cllr. Kieran McCarthy.

Speaking at the Businesswoman of the Year Awards 2024 ceremony, Lord Mayor of Cork, Cllr Kieran McCarthy stressed the importance of this annual event: “Network Cork plays a vital role in supporting women in their careers and businesses, and this annual awards ceremony is a significant event that celebrates and recognises the remarkable achievements of professionals across Cork City and County.”

President of Network Cork, Susana Marambio extended her congratulations to this year’s winners and shared her pride in showcasing the achievements of Cork women in business: “We’re immensely proud to celebrate our outstanding winners. Their achievements reflect the ambition, innovation, and determination that define our community. Their stories will undoubtedly inspire not only the next generation, but all women in business. Let’s continue to support and uplift one another as we celebrate their exceptional accomplishments.”

You can find out more about Network Cork here>>

Pictured are: President of Network Cork Susana Marambio & National President Network Ireland Linda Codoul & Vice President of Network Cork Cathy Fitzgibbon with AWARD WINNERS: Solo Businesswoman Oral McAndrew, Oral McAndrew Food, Employee Shining Star Dr. Siobhán Lucey, UCC, STEM Professional Patricia Macropoulos, Access Laboratories, Emerging New Businesswoman Dara O’Shea, RHEA, Employee Rising Star Lorna Horgan, 96fm & C103, Networker of the Year, Maura Mackey, Maura Mackey Design, Creative Professional Stef McSherry, Kinderama, Presidents Award, Elaine Duggan, The Echo, and Established Businesswoman Liz Gavin, NuaFund. Photo Darragh Kane