Intel Announces 2015 Women in Technology Scholars

20th November 2015

Posted In: FYI

Intel Ireland revealed it 2015 Women in Technology scholars at an awards presentation in Dublin on November 18th.

This is the fourth year of the Women in Technology programme for Intel in Leixlip where the initiative was introduced following the success of the same programme which has been supported by Intel in Shannon since 2006.

The scholarship programme aims to encourage a new generation of high-achieving women to take up the challenge of a career in science and technology. The program forms part of a wider focus by Intel on empowering girls and women by fostering educational opportunities and encouraging women to participate, prosper, and lead in the global economy.

This year Intel awarded the highest number of scholarships to date – 17 in total – which brings the overall number of scholars currently in the programme to 34 with a total investment since 2012 of over €160,000. The programme offers a monetary grant valued at €2,000 per annum as well as opportunities for work placements at the Intel Leixlip campus. Each scholar is also assigned a mentor who is an Intel Leixlip employee to assist and provide advice on managing their academic career.

The 17 new scholars were named at an event which was attended by Ann Kelleher, Intel Corporate Vice President and General Manager of Fab/Sort Manufacturing, Fab 24 Factory Manager Ann-Marie Holmes and Quark Engineering Manger Noel Murphy who helped present the scholarships to the new recipients.

Each of the participants are studying a Science, Engineering or Technology course in either Trinity College Dublin, University College Dublin, Dublin City University, University College Cork, University of Limerick, Maynooth University or Dublin Institute of Technology.

The 2015 scholars are:

– Maria Cordero (Cork) – Trinity College Dublin

– Fiona Maguire (Donegal) – University College Dublin

– Lucia Hughes (Dublin) – Trinity College Dublin

– Aileen McCabe (Cavan) – University College Dublin

– Anna McEvoy (Louth) – Dublin Institute of Technology

– Ruth Quinn (Meath) – University College Dublin

– Orlaith Hickey (Wexford) – University College Dublin

– Eimear Murphy (Kildare) – University College Dublin

– Caoimhe Rose Martin (Wicklow) – University College Dublin

– Stephanie Walsh (Offaly) – Maynooth University

– Eunice OreOluwa Fasan (Louth) – Trinity College Dublin

– Catrina Carrigan (Dublin) – Dublin City University

– Vera O’Riordan (Cork) – University College Cork

– Louise Allen (Kerry) – University of Limerick

– Aoife McMenamin (Louth) – University College Dublin

– Zenouska Murphy (Dublin) – Dublin City University