Female Food Producers Come Up Trumps

5th March 2015

Posted In: FYI
Peter and Birgitta Curtin

The annual Irish Food Writers’ Guild (IFWG) Food Awards were held yesterday in l’Ecrivain Restaurant, Dublin.

Seven food producers were awarded for the “high standard and impeccable quality of their products, as well as for their unwavering dedication, devotion and commitment to Irish food”.

These awards are unique because the members of the Guild are the sole nominating and decision-making body; no member can self-nominate, nor do members of the public participate.

Women in the industry were well represented in every category, either winning as solo producers or with their business partners. Two female food producers received special acknowledgement too – Birgitta Curtin (pictured with her husband Peter) of Burren Smokehouse was honoured for her notable contribution to Irish food. Veronica Molloy of Crossogue Preserves won the Lifetime Achievement Award for her dedication to growing on the home farm and the consistent innovation of her range of artisan Irish preserves over 20 years.

Lizzie Gore-Grimes, Chairperson of the IFWG said: “The stronger the story behind the brand and the more that is known about its origin, the greater the connection between the consumer and the product.”

The full list of winners is:

– Isabelle Sheridan, On the Pig’s Back, Cork: Food Award

– Eugene and Helena Hickey, Skeaghanore Farm Fresh Ducks, West Cork: Food Award

– Fiona and Malcom Falconer, Wild About, Co Wexford: Food Award

– David and Martina Burns, Richmount Elderflower Cordial, Co Longford: Irish Drink Award

– Birgitta Curtin, Burren Smokehouse, Co Clare: Notable contribution to Irish Food Award

– Siobhan and Paul Lawless, The Foods of Athenry, Co Galway: Environmental Award

– Veronica Molloy, Crossogue Preserves, Co Tipperary: Lifetime Achievement Award